Captain Louis Pulford Bureau Chief

Captain Louis Pulford
Bureau Chief

The Community Policing Bureau is comprised of the Patrol Division, Crime Suppression Division and Juvenile Division. Each division has various assigned units. Major David Pistarelli and Captain Louis Pulford oversee the entire Bureau.

Captain Brian Dotten Assistant Bureau Chief

Captain Brian Dotten
Assistant Bureau Chief

The Patrol Division reports to Captain Pulford. This Division is responsible for all 12 District Offices which are supervised by a Lieutenant. Law enforcement uniformed deputies are assigned to each district based on the following criteria: calls for service, response time, crime rate and population.

Community Policing in Marion County is a decentralized approach to fighting crime by focusing on crime fighting efforts in districts located throughout the county rather than from a centralized location. Our decentralized approach makes us more accessible to the citizens we serve.

The Marion County Sheriff’s Office has many specialty units under the Patrol Division such as: SWAT, Bomb Squad, Hostage Negotiations, Underwater Recovery, Field Force, Bike Patrol and Marine Units. Full time specialty units include: K-9, Traffic and the Air Unit. The Sheriff’s Office also maintains a Reserve Unit and a Mounted Unit. Both of these are primarily made up of civilian volunteers.

Added to their team is Lieutenant Brian Dotten, whose main responsibilities are the day to day operations of the Fugitive Apprehension Unit, Property Crimes Unit, Tactical Investigations and Robbery Unit. All of which fall under the Crime Suppression Division.

Captain Alicia Walker supervises the Juvenile Division which is responsible for the School Resource Officers (SRO), Department of Children and Families Liaison, the Work in Lieu of Arrest (WILA) Program and Crisis Intervention Services (CIS).

Divisions of the Community Policing Bureaus

  • Crime Suppression Division
  • Juvenile Division
  • Patrol Division
  • Patrol Watch Commanders