Major Alicia Walker   Bureau Chief

Major Alicia Walker
Bureau Chief

The Law Enforcement Bureau is comprised of the Patrol Division, Special Operations, Criminal Investigations and the Juvenile Division. Each division has various assigned units. Major Tom Terrell oversees the entire Bureau, along with direct oversight of the SWAT team.

The Patrol Division is commanded by three sector commanders. This Division is also responsible for all 12 District Offices. Captain Brian Dotten is in charge of Field Operations, supervising the Patrol Watch Commander Lieutenants and Sergeants on the road. Law enforcement uniformed deputies are assigned to each district based on the following criteria: calls for service, response time, crime rate and population.

Community Policing in Marion County is a decentralized approach to fighting crime by focusing on crime fighting efforts in districts located throughout the county rather than from a centralized location. Our decentralized approach makes us more accessible to the citizens we serve.

The Marion County Sheriff’s Office has many specialty units under the Special Operations Division, which is overseen by Captain Brian Dotten.  This division includes units such as: Bomb Squad, Hostage Negotiations, Underwater Recovery, Field Force, and Marine Units. Full time specialty units include: K-9, the Motor Unit, the Air Unit, Agricultural Deputy and Special Details Coordinator. The Sheriff’s Office also maintains a Reserve Unit and a Mounted Unit. Both of these are primarily made up of civilian volunteers.

Captain Louis Pulford supervises the Criminal Investigations Division, whose main responsibilities are Major Crimes, Property Crimes, Crime Analysis, and Evidence. 

Captain Alicia Walker supervises the Juvenile Division, which is responsible for the School Resource Officers (SRO), Department of Children and Families Liaison, the Work in Lieu of Arrest (WILA) Program and Crisis Intervention Services (CIS).